What are Chakras & The Energy Body?

These days the terms CHAKRAS & ENERGY BODY are popping up in mainstream culture more than ever. You may have seen holistic healing products such as essential oils, sprays or crystals referring to having Chakra Balancing properties.. but what exactly are they?
What are Chakras & The Energy Body? | Sentient Creations


Posted on January 28th, 2020

These days the terms CHAKRAS & ENERGY HEALING are popping up in mainstream culture more than ever. You may have seen holistic healing products such as essential oils, sprays or crystals referring to having Chakra Balancing properties.. but what exactly are they?

Perhaps you've heard someone say something along the lines of "I'm feeling so scattered today - I really need to get grounded!"
More & more, people are realising that the way we feel is directly impacted by the energy that is in & around us.

As more & more people are consciously turning to mindful living & intentional lifestyle practices, we have seen a huge shift in how we first approach disease, mental health & our overall well being. When we feel uncomfortable, or that something isn't right, the default mode for humans in general tends to be to look to the external factors in our lives. We have been conditioned to look outwards rather than inwards for an explanation.. although as science & modern human lifestyle is evolving, we are now starting to see a change in this.

Incredible new scientific discoveries about the biochemical effects of the brain's functioning show that all the cells of your body are affected by your thoughts.

With this knowledge, we may come to understand that in order to change your thoughts & beliefs, you thereby have the power to alter your health & your life for the better.

The new science also accepts that the universe, including us, is made up of energy - not matter. Although, this is not actually "new" – it was stated by Socrates in Europe way back when, & by the ancient rishis in India thousands of years before that!!

Sooooo.. what does all of that actually mean??

It brings us to a modern scientific understanding that we are ALL made up of pure energy, vibrating at various frequencies. Each area of a healthy functioning body (all the major organ systems, etc) will have its individual optimal functioning energetic frequency that it vibrates at. If an area within our body is not functioning in a balanced manner, it indicates that the energetic frequency for that functioning part of our body is out of wack & vibrating out of balance.

If the thought processes that we live by (our beliefs) effect the way our body functions (at a healthy & balanced vibrational frequency) then with this knowledge, we may come to understand that to change your thoughts & beliefs, you have the power to alter your health & wellbeing for the better.

To simplify it even more....

Our thoughts control our body. Our bodies are all made up of energy. If we learn how to control our thoughts, we can then control the energy that operates our body & alter our mental state & well-being.

Emotions are in fact ENERGY in MOTION!


The History of Chakras

The theory of the Subtle Energy Body & its Energy Centers - Chakras - comes from the tradition of Tantric Yoga, which flourished in India from 600-1300 CE - & is still alive today. In mature Tantric Yoga, the many branches of the tradition articulated a different Chakra system & some branches articulated more than one.

At Sentient Creations we have aligned our products to work with the system that was originally founded in the thirteenth-century in a scripture called the Śāradā-tilaka, which identifies 7 main Chakra energy centers & has since then gone on to be one of the most widely recognised & followed yogic systems of today.

The Sanskrit word Chakra literally translates to “spinning wheel”. In yoga, meditation & Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. Within our bodies, we have seven of these major energy centers & many more minor ones.

The Seven Major Chakras

The seven major Chakras are typically represented sitting along the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. To visualise a Chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter & consciousness meet. This invisible energy, called Prana, is vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy & alive.

(Image via Alexander Fairman)


These swirling wheels of energy correspond to massive nerve centers in the body. Each of the seven main Chakras contain bundles of nerves & major organs as well as our psychological, emotional & spiritual states of being. Since everything is moving, it is essential that Chakras stay open, aligned & fluid. Sometimes Chakras may become blocked due to stress, emotional or physical problems. If the body’s ‘energy system’ can not flow freely it is likely that problems will occur. The consequence of irregular energy flow may result in physical illness & discomfort or a sense of being mentally & emotionally out of balance.

Since mind, body, soul & spirit are intimately connected, awareness of an imbalance in one area will help bring the others back into aligned balance.

Chakra Colours

We can further understand the energetic existence of our Chakras (& their associated emotions) by understanding their colour. Yes, each Chakra has a color associated with it! Visible light gives off electromagnetic waves, vibrating across the field through time & space. Depending on how quickly the waves are vibrating, our eyes will pick them up as different colors. Red, for instance, is a lower-frequency wave that looks like a slow roll; purple, on the other hand, is a high-frequency wave with sharp peaks & valleys. In fact, we can measure a wave in nanometers & then determine its energetic strength! The Chakra energies, vibrating at their different frequencies, likewise have different colors.

Chakras & Your Body

A Chakra may be likened to a wheel or a vortex, but it operates like a ball of energy interpenetrating the physical body. The Chakras themselves are not physical; you can’t see them on an X-ray. They are aspects of consciousness & they interact with the physical & energetic body through two major vehicles, the endocrine system & the nervous system. Each of the seven Chakras is associated with one of the nine endocrine glands & also with a particular group of nerves, called a plexus, making them important elements in healing. Thus, each Chakra corresponds with particular parts of the body & particular functions within the body controlled by that plexus or that endocrine gland, which is the key to understanding how Chakra healing methods work.

Through understanding the Chakra system & being able to identify energy imbalances within this framework, we are then empowered with the knowledge to consciously take the time to check in with any area of our mental, physical & spiritual state that may need attention.

With love & gratitude always,
Bringing Sacred Ritual into Your Everyday Life..
For daily insight & information, you are welcomed you to follow us on Instagram & Facebook:
Smudge Sticks, Smoke Clearing, Energy Clearing, Smudge Bouquet, Palo Santo, White Sage, Australian Smudge Stick, Wholesale Smudge Sticks

Australian Owned & Designed

We Guarantee Excellent Quality, Crafted With Love & Intention

Free Shipping

For All Orders Over $45 - Dispatched daily From our AU studio

Free Crystal Gift With All Orders

Intuitively hand chosen, just for you.. ♡


Ethically & Sustainably Grown, Sourced & Packaged
✧ AfterPay Available ✧ Visa Mastercard American Express JCB PayPal Afterpay Google Pay